-
Q: I have question about scenario the Longest Night (Hemlock Vale campaign) and location barn: " When Barn is revealed: Place the set-aside Ajax story asset at this location ([codex] Ω)." What if this location is revealed during setup? Can I trigger this reaction? According RAW I can't but in this case Ajax would be lost, so I wonder if this will an exception in this situation and I could trigger this reaction during setup. A: The reaction ability on Barn should be a Forced ability instead; it was not the intention that Ajax be unobtainable if the location is revealed during setup. (We recognize that Ajax technically isn’t “set aside” at that step, but even so he can still be placed at Barn at this time.) (Ruling, April 2025) NOTE: This is clarified in FAQ v2.4 below.
-
NB: ArkhamDB now incorporates errata from the Arkham Horror FAQ in its card text, so the ArkhamDB text and the card image above differ, as the ArkhamDB text has been edited to contain this erratum: Erratum: This card’s ability should be a “Forced –” ability. (Official FAQ v2.4, July 2025)
- Q: Does intention of ability of this card: " When Mine Cart moves, spend 1 switch: Either cancel the move, or move an additional time" is that you decide do you want to move additional time before you move (before you will reveal the location) or you decide to move additional time after you move (after you reveal location). In this case ability should read: "when mine cart move spend 1 switch to cancel the move, or after mine cart move spend 1 switch to move additional time." A: If you wish to trigger the reaction ability on Mine Cart, you must choose whether or not to spend a switch before Mine Cart moves and before the location it moves to is revealed. (Ruling, April 2025)
Q: I believe that the term "draw" as a trigger has been ruled to only apply to the main player deck. Since that ruling, we've gotten more sources of side decks, so I'm curious: If I have Geas in play: 1) Is drawing from Underworld Market "drawing"? 2) Ancestral Knowledge? 3) Using Katja Eastbank's > ability? 4) If Ikiaq leaves play, is that a "draw" for Geas? 5) I think it's been previously ruled no, but is drawing an encounter card (Delve Too Deep, Drawn to the Flame, etc) a 'draw' for Geas? A: If you have Geas in play and make the promise to “not draw” during each of your turns, you can’t draw a card from any deck or source. Each of the cards you mentioned has you “draw” a card from a deck, from beneath another card, or that was attached to another card; each counts against Geas’ promise. (Ruling, May 2025)
Q: I have a question about how placing multiple cards on "either the top or bottom or a deck" works. Do you have to place the entire group of cards on the top, or the entire group of cards on the bottom? Or do you get to choose for each card individually, thereby splitting the group of cards up between both the top and the bottom? For example, Seeker Scroll of Secrets: "Place the rest of those cards on either the top or bottom of their deck, in any order." Can players split these player cards between the top and bottom of their deck? Another example from the Dazzling Skyline location: "For each clue spent, reveal the bottom 3 cards of the Summit deck. You may place those cards on either the top or bottom of the Summit deck, in any order." Can the player split the locations across the top and bottom or the Summit deck? Thank you in advance! A: Yes; for such an ability, you may choose to divide the cards between the top and bottom of the deck. (Ruling, May 2025)
Q: I have a question about Marion's ability timing. Suppose I am playing as Marion and have an enemy engaged with me. I provoke an attack of opportunity. I use Counterpunch (2) in response to that, which occurs "before resolving the attack." I do not defeat the enemy. I trigger Marion's investigator ability to draw and then play another event. Is that second event still "before resolving the attack?" Does this mean that (for example) I could play another Fight event that does not normally have a "before resolving the attack" timing (ex: Monster Slayer) to defeat the enemy and therefore not take the attack? Thank you! A: Yes. To walk through it: you’d trigger/initiate the attack of opportunity, then immediately play Counterpunch (2), then after resolving the event trigger and resolve Marion’s ability to allow you to play a new event such as Monster Slayer and resolve it, and only after that would you resolve the attack of opportunity if the enemy is still in play. (This is an example of a “nested sequence.”) (Ruling, May 2025)